Overdue Book Review: Magician Master by Raymond E. Feist

The Riftwar Saga:

  1. Magician: Apprentice – Review – 4/5
  2. Magician: Master – Review below – 4/5
  3. Silverthorn – not yet read
  4. A Darkness at Sethanon


449 pages | 18 hours 22 minutes (audio)

In book 1 we met the various main characters and watched them grow from little kids into young adults who have spent most of their lives fighting an enemy they don’t understand. An enemy which comes from another world.

In book 2 we follow all of the characters that survived book 1. Pug is enslaved in the enemies home world. Tomas and his magic armor have changed drastically over the last 8 years and the elves fear his magic comes from their ancient enemy.

There are also some new additions to the cast. My absolute favorite was the captain/pirate. I absolutely loved hearing about the sea journeys and battles that took place in this book. I also really enjoyed the interactions with the dwarves.

I listened to the audiobook for this story way back in early November, but I do remember that I enjoyed it a lot. It was a great follow up to book 1 and I will continue with the series. (Hopefully soon!)

Book 2, just like book 1, was an epic journey that followed the characters over many years and trials and it was fascinating to see how the characters grew and changed.

If you enjoy epic fantasies, or battles that affect the fate of the world then I would highly recommend this series to you.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s